Pre-sales and Access Limits

Courses can be sold in advance of release by setting an "available on" date. You can also set an end date so you can expire access/sale of a course. It's also possible to grant access to a course for a specified amount of time. Finally, you can limit the number of "seats" or places that can be sold or enrolled in an individual distribution of a course.

Read on to learn how.

To start, all access limits can be found on the package editor page. To edit the access limit options for a package:

  1. Click on the Courses menu item in the sidebar (HINT: it's the book icon).
  2. Click the Course which you wish to limit access.
  3. Click the "Selling" menu item and then click "Packages" from the dropdown.
  4. Click "Edit" next to the package you wish to change.
  5. Find the options under "Pricing and Availability".

Pre-sales

To pre-sell a course.

  1. Select the "Limit access by dates" option under "Access Limits".
  2. In the first date field, enter the date the course should become available to the student.
  3. Click "Update Package" or "Update" to save the package.

If you then publish this package, it becomes available for sale. The landing page buttons and checkout pages will show "Pre-order Now" instead of "Buy Now" until the pre-sale date arrives. 

If a student buys the package, they can then set up their account, log in, and see they have access to the course via that package. If the course is not available yet, it will show the available date on the course badge.

Limited Access by Dates

As well as setting a starting available date, you can specify a ending available date on a package. This means that the student loses access to the course on or after that date. The package will automatically not be available for sale on your landing pages after this date as well.

To expire access to a course package on a date:

  1. Select the "Limit access by dates" option under "Access Limits".
  2. In the second date field, enter the date the course should no longer be available to the student.
  3. Click "Update Package" or "Update" to save the package.

When the date arrives, any students enrolled in this package will lose access to the course and an "Access expired on" message will be displayed on the course badge.

Limited Access by Time

If you want to only give access to a course for a specified amount of time, this option is for you. When a student gets access to a course via a package, we set the "expiry date" based on the setting in the package. So if you set the package to expire after three months, when the student signs up, they have access to the course for three months, after which a "Access expired on" message will be displayed on the course badge.

To expire access to a course package by time:

  1. Select the "Limit access by time" option under "Access Limits".
  2. Enter a period of days/weeks/months/years that access lasts.
  3. Click "Update Package" or "Update" to save the package.

You can also set or adjust expiry times for a student individually by editing the enrollment directly:

  1. Click on the "People" item in the sidebar (HINT: it's the people icon).
  2. Click on the name of the student you wish to change (you can search by name or email).
  3. Click the "Enrollments & Access" menu item.
  4. Click "Edit" next to the enrollment you want to change.
  5. Change the "Expires/Expired" date (or click "Clear" to remove the date).
  6. Click "Save Changes".

NOTE: we do not update existing student expiry times when you change the package time limits. They are only applied when the student first gets access to the course via a sale or manual access grant.

Limited Access by Seats

If you want to only have a set number of places that are for sale, you can "limit access by seats" per course package. Each time a student buys a package from a Doki checkout page or enrols via an invite code, the number of seats is reduced by 1 until it reaches zero, then the package is no longer available.

To limit a package by seats:

  1. Select the "Limit number of seats" option under "Seats Available".
  2. Under "Number of seats remaining" enter one of the following:
    1. 1 or more, indicating how many seats you want to offer.
    2. 0 for SOLD OUT.
    3. -1 for no limits.
  3. If you want to hide the package listing on your landing page once it's sold out, check "Hide from landing page when sold out".
  4. If you want to redirect the checkout page to your own site or a mailing list landing page once it's sold out, "Redirect checkout page to a link when sold out" and enter a full URL (including the https://) to the link you want to redirect to.
  5. Click "Save Changes".

The package listings on your landing page will show how many seats are left. Once sold out, a "SOLD OUT" message displays.

Keep in mind that manually enrolling a student using the admin tools WILL NOT impact the remaining seats number. Neither will enrolling students via another method such as our Zapier application.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us